What Are My Reading Values?

by Kathie

I’ve been in a very introspective mood lately. Last week, I shared my revamped 5 star rating system with you. This week, I sat down to intentionally look at my reading values, and how I want to show up online.

I’ve been trying to learn more about Instagram reels and expressing my book love in new ways, but I found it was easy to lose sight of why I was online in the first place. I want to post and share in my own way, rather than trying to copy someone else’s vision and feeling disappointed when it doesn’t feel like me. It’s hard to find my own voice in the midst of the noise of social media, so I decided to start with my values. What do I value about my reading life? What’s important to me? How do I want others to see me?

Out of a list of several words from an online values workbook, I chose ten that resonate with me:

  1. Authenticity
  2. Challenge
  3. Community
  4. Creativity
  5. Contribution
  6. Freedom
  7. Fun
  8. Growth
  9. Learning
  10. Pleasure

From those words, I created the values statements that are the core of who I want to be as a reader.

Do any of these values resonate with you? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “What Are My Reading Values?

  1. I love this! It’s easy to fall into the social media “trap” and lose your way. How do I want to show up? What’s important to me? Thank you for articulating this so beautifully. I’m 100% with you on all of it.

    Like

Leave a comment