#IMWAYR (It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?) – Jan 4/21

Happy New Year! Like you, I was very happy to flip over the calendar to a new year, and I’m excited about all the wonderful books I have on my options pile to read this year. I have several holds placed at the library, a couple of book orders on their way, and a full Kindle of eARCs to enjoy. I’m taking part in the Bit About Books Winter 2021 Reading Challenge, and I have a small list of goals for the winter reading season, but I also plan to read at least one book per month from 2020 to keep the love going for authors who really didn’t get enough last year. I’ve set some reflection questions to think about at the end of the winter season, so I’m excited to continue my reading journal and reflect on the books I read.

Unsettled by Reem Faruqi (May 11/21) This is my first read of 2021, and I was blown away by the beautiful writing. I have so many quotes I wish I could share with you, but since it’s an eARC, you’ll have to trust me that the imagery and lyrical language are exceptional. This novel is verse is written from the perspective of 13-year-old Nurah, and follows her journey from Pakistan to a new home in the United States. (5 stars – full review coming on January 20th).

  • Over the Top by Alison Hughes (August 3/21) This is my first Canadian read of the year, and though it doesn’t come out until August, I really like the fact that it’s only 192 pages and will appeal to a wide audience. Diva is likes to live a life where she can blend in, but it’s difficult when she has a mom that’s over the top. Diva has to survive her mom’s great ideas, while also trying to avoid the wrath of the mean girl who lives next door. (3.5 stars)
  • Race to the Bottom of the Earth: Surviving Antarctica by Rebecca E.F. Barone (Jan 5/21) This fascinating, extensively researched nonfiction book for young readers book is told from the perspectives of two races separated by over a hundred years. Captain Robert Scott and Roald Amudsen each manned expeditions to the South Pole in 1910, with the intention to be the first to reach the South Pole. Captain Louis Rudd and Cody O’Brady each set off to be the first to complete an unaided, unsupported solo crossing of Antartica in 2018. These four journeys are brought to life and show the reader the dangers, challenges, obstacles, losses, and triumphs faced by the individuals involved in journeying across this unforgiving landscape (4.5 stars)

I think the last book has also inspired me to think about my spring goals, and possibly reading a book set in each continent this year.

What are you reading!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? has changed from becoming a meme for adults to the sharing of childrens’ lit. This idea to include #kidlit came from Unleashing Reader blogger Kellee Moye and Jen Vincent, from the Teach Mentor Texts, blog. They thought there should be a children’s lit focus too and hence a version for #kidlit began! So every Monday join in on the fun, by sharing what you just finished reading, currently are reading, or are anticipating reading.  Use the hashtag #IMWAYR on your social media sites to share, follow what others are reading and to show support for #kidlit bloggers by reading and commenting.  

Leave a comment