#IMWAYR (It’s Monday What Are You Reading?) Nov. 30/20

This weekend I participated in the #stayhomereadmore reading marathon hosted by the #LitReviewCrew, and I found out about it via Alexis Ennis (@Mrs_Bookdragon). It was great to connect with old friends and see what they were reading, meet new readers and, of course, naturally add to my TBR/Options pile. I was not as hardcore as others in terms of my tracking, but it did get my butt in gear to finish up some books I had been neglecting and to get ahead on my Canadian Shining Willow picture book nominee stack.

Last Week

Double the Danger and Zero Zucchini by Betsy Uhrig. Reluctant reader Alex has been asked to help his aunt review a book she has written. It is incredibly dull, so Alex and his friends are providing suggestions with the help of a ghostwriter. A delightful debut and had me chuckling out loud with some of the antics the trio of friends found themselves in as they worked together to improve the book. A definite purchase for classrooms and libraries and would make for an engaging read-aloud. I appreciated the super short chapters to balance what some readers may find intimidating with the length.

The Icebound Land by John Flanagan. The third book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series has two focuses; one on Will and Evelyn as prisoners of the Skandians, and Halt and Horace, who are attempting to find and rescue the pair. This is one of my favourites of the series as we see other sides to the main and supporting characters, and is a bit darker than the previous two books.

Seven Clues to Home by Gae Polisner and Nora Raleigh Baskin: Told from two perspectives and in two timelines, readers meet Lukas and Joy two best friends who love math, puzzles and scavenger hunts. Every year on their birthdays only two days apart, they create a scavenger hunt for one another. This year Joy is still trying to get over the death of Lukas that happened on her birthday. She finally decides to begin the scavenger hunt she never started on the day he died. When it is Lukas’s perspective, we are back in time, seeing the preparation of the clues to the scavenger hunt leading up to the cause of his death. I LOVED this story and am shocked that there has not been more buzz about this book and will write more later.

The Calm and Cozy Book of Sleep: Rest +Dream + Live by Beth Wyatt. This was an informative quick read on ways to improve your sleep. Chapters included setting up your bedroom environment to settling down and waking up routines. Although I do not have trouble sleeping, I found this book engaging and picked up a few pointers for myself.

Up Next

Picture Books and Nonfiction Books: As always, I have a stack to savour in between reading and listening to novels.

Peril at Owl Park (Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen #2) by Marthe Jocelyn. Going into one of my favourite genres of reading, some mysteries. I enjoyed the first Aggie Morton (The Body Under the Attic) so I am looking forward to reading a Christmas themed murder. 

I have two adult books on the go…

A Promised Land by Barack Obama and narrated by the author. Delving into an adult book – I enjoyed Michelle Obama’s Becoming so much I thought I would listen to his memoir as well. This is a lengthy but captivating read, but it will be one that I pop in and out of as other books from my library become available.

Wintering: The Power of Rest and Retreat in Difficult Times by Katherine May. As suggested by Kathie, this book looks to fit in nicely for my post tomorrow. Just started, Ms. May has a strong writing voice, and I look forward to the journey she is going to share with me.

Down the Road

Many audiobooks on hold from my public library, including the elusive Royal Rangers #4 The Missing Prince, by John Flanagan. So, whatever shows up will be what I start. In the meantime, my print books will be of a mystery theme – Premidated Myrtle Elizabeth Bunce and then the recently indie purchase The Amelia Six by Kristin L. Gray.

I want to acknowledge the two that started this all. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? has changed from becoming a meme for adults to the sharing of children’s lit. This idea to include #kidlit came from Unleashing Reader blogger Kellee Moye and Jen Vincent, from the Teach Mentor Texts, blog. They thought there should be a children’s lit focus too, and hence a version for #kidlit began! So every Monday, join in on the fun by sharing what you just finished reading, currently are reading, or are anticipating reading. Use the hashtag #IMWAYR on your social media sites to share, follow what others are reading and to show support for #kidlit bloggers by reading and commenting.

Happy reading!

Laurie

Leave a comment